Tamale South: Minority leader Haruna Iddrisu wins by landslide

The Minority Leader and incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Tamale South, Mr Haruna Iddrisu has won the parliamentary election with a landslide victory.

His other contenders in the race Messrs Yakubu Yussif, Kassim Abdul Jalilu and Imoro Nabila Sualisu of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the Convention People’s Party (CPP) and People’s National Convention (PNC) secured 23, 417, 542 and 731 votes respectively.

Mr Iddrisu who was declared as the winner at the constituency collation centre by the Electoral Commission (EC) in Tamale, this afternoon around 2.15 pm thanked his constituents for the confidence repose in him by coming out in their numbers to vote for him and the party’s presidential candidate.

He gave the assurance that he would continue to work tirelessly for the good of his constituents.


He expressed concerns about the delay in declaring the parliamentary election results in the Savelugu constituency and also the rightful person who won the election, saying that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) as a part would resist any attempt by the EC to subvert the will of the people in the constituency.

He called the Chairperson of the EC, Mrs Jean Mensa to immediately call the said official to order.

The Tamale South constituency was created in 2004 and has since been won by the NDC.

|Graphic Online


Ghanaweb Onine is dedicated to bringing you news from various media groups in Ghana,Africa and around the world to keep you informed and educated as you go about your daily lives. Disclaimer: The views of each article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not reflect that of Ghana web online.We are not responsible for any misinformation or incorrect statement. If you need any more clarification on an article please direct them to the original source.All contents belong to their respective owners we do not own it.

Related Articles

Back to top button