Sun, Feb


Ghanaian youngster Eric Ayiah has been nominated for the CAF Youth Player of the Year after a fruitful 2017.

Ayiah captained the national U-17 team at the Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon and FIFA World Cup in India.
Ayiah dazzled fans and players alike with his pace and scoring prowess at both tournaments, finishing as Ghana’s top scorer with a total of seven goals.
The Charity Stars striker faces stiff competition from South Africa winger Luther Singh.
Singh emerged top scorer at the U-20 Africa Cup of Nations and was also named in the team of the tournament.

The rest are Senegal's Krepin Diatta and Patson Daka of Zambia and Austrian side FC Liefering.
Mali starlet Salam Giddou of Guidars who starred at the 2017 FIFA U17 World Cup finals completes the cast.
Also, the female U-20 team, Black Princesses are in contention for Women’s national team of the year award.
The winners will be decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants.

Meanwhile, only members of the CAF Referees’ Committee will elect the Referee of the Year.
The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)
Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)
Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)
Women’s National Team of the Year
Ghana U-20
Nigeria U-20
South Africa
Coach of the Year
Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
Hector Cuper (Egypt)
Hugo Broos (Cameroon)
L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)
Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)
National Team of the Year
Mali U-17
Zambia U-20
Club of the Year
Al Ahly
Mbabane Swallows
SuperSport United
TP Mazembe
Wydad Athletic Club
Youth Player of the Year
Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)
Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)
Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)
Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)
Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)
Referee of the Year
Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)
Ghead Grisha (Egypt)
Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)
Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)
Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)
Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)

Email Subscription

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.