Sun, Feb


Black Stars coach, Kwasi Appiah, has axed Andre Ayew and his younger brother Jordan from his 24-man squad for Ghana’s next FIFA World Cup qualifying game against Uganda on October 7.

The England-based duo’s exclusion from the team has paved way for some new entrants, as well as the return of gifted defender Daniel Opare who last played for the national team during the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

The list includes debutants Kingsley Sarfo of Swedish side Malmo, USA-based Abass Mohammed, Kasim Nuhu of Swiss club Young Boys, Hearts of Oak defender Vincent Atinga and Inter Allies ace Isaac Twum.

Opare’s return is a reward for his fine form for his German club Augsburg after working his way back to the first team and featuring regularly in the Bundelsiga this season.
Also earning their debut call-up are West Africa Football Union (WAFU) Cup-winning duo of Atinga and Twum.

Atingah, was exceptional as a centre-back for the Black Stars B, scoring two goals in the WAFU Cup, while Inter Allies midfielder Twum was pivotal in Ghana’s success story and finishing as winner of the Golden Ball as the tournament’s most valuable player.

Their promotion to the mainstream Black Stars squad for the World Cup tournament was a reward for their outstanding role in the WAFU Cup and also falls in line with Coach Appiah’s policy of giving opportunities to younger players.

The squad will be whittled down to 23 players as the team will start its preparations for the match to be played away from home.

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Martizburg,South Africa), Lawrence Ati (Sochaux, France), Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Columbus,USA), Daniel Opare (Augsburg, Germany) Agbenyenu Lumor (Portimonese, Portugal), Abass Mohammed (Harrisburg City, USA), Kasim Nuhu (Young Boys, Switzerland), Daniel Amartey (Leicester,England), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew,USA), Nicholas Opoku (Club Africain, Tunisia), Vincent Atinga (Hearts of Oak)

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Joseph Attamah (Bakaksehir, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Kingsley Sarfo (Malmo, Sweden) Alfred Duncan (Sassuolo FC, Italy), Ebenezer Ofori (Stuttgart, Germany), Thomas Agyepong (NAC Breda, Holland), Frank Acheampong (Tianjin TEDA, China), Isaac Twum (Inter Allies), Patrick Twumasi (Astana FC, Kazakhtan)

Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Kayerispor, Turkey), Raphael Dwamena (FC Zurich, Switzerland), John Antwi (Misr Lel-Makkasa, Egypt), Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Crvena Zvezda, Serbia).

|Graphic online

Email Subscription

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.