Confirmed: Justice Anin Yeboah nominated for CJ job

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has forwarded Justice Anin Yeboah’s name to Parliament as his choice as the next Chief Justice to take over from Justice Sophia Akuffo who is retiring at the end of December 2019.
Justice Anin Yeboah’s appointment as Chief Justice is subject to Parliamentary approval.

The First Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Mr Joe Osei Owusu announced in Parliament on Thursday [December 12, 2019] that President Akufo-Addo has written to Parliament in accordance with Article 144 (1) of the 1992 Constitution on his nomination of Justice Anin Yeboah.

The First Deputy Speaker of Parliament who was sitting as Speaker and read the communication from the presidency said he has referred the letter to the Appointments Committee of Parliament for vetting.

If approved, Justice Anin Yeboah, who is the fourth longest-serving Justice of the Supreme Court, will succeed Justice Sophia Akuffo, who retires on December 20, 2019.

Justice Anin-Yeboah, a well-seasoned law enforcer, was appointed to the Supreme Court by former President John Agyekum Kufuor in June 2008.

Last week, the Daily Graphic published that Mr Justice Anin Yeboah a Justice of the Supreme Court had been tipped to become the next Chief Justice and that barring any last-minute changes, Justice Yeboah was expected to be named as the President’s nominee to replace the Chief Justice, Justice Sophia Abena Boafoa Akuffo, who retires on December 20, 2019.

According to the Daily Graphic’s sources, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo submitted Justice Anin Yeboah’s name to the Council of State for consideration, in accordance with Article 144 (1) of the 1992 Constitution.

Article 144 Clause One stipulates: “The Chief Justice shall be appointed by the President, acting in consultation with the Council of State and with the approval of Parliament.”

When approved by Parliament, Mr Justice Yeboah will be the first male Chief Justice in 12 years.

Two females — Justice Georgina Theodora Wood (2007-2017) and Justice Akuffo (2017- 2019) — have occupied the position for the last 12 years.

The last male Chief Justice was Justice George Kingsley Acquah, who served from July 4, 2003 to March 25, 2007.

Writer’s email: enoch.frimpong@graphic.com.gh 

|Graphic Online

Show More


Ghanaweb Onine is dedicated to bringing you news from various media groups in Ghana,Africa and around the world to keep you informed and educated as you go about your daily lives. Disclaimer: The views of each article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not reflect that of Ghana web online.We are not responsible for any misinformation or incorrect statement. If you need any more clarification on an article please direct them to the original source.All contents belong to their respective owners we do not own it.

Related Articles

Back to top button